When are Non-Domestic Energy Performance Certificates Required

Non-Domestic Energy Performance Certificates and Recommendation Reports are required whenever a commercial building is sold, let or constructed*. This is so building owners know how energy efficient their property currently is and the best ways that they could improve their rating. An EPC also helps prospective buyers and tenants of commercial properties to compare the energy efficiency of buildings quickly and easily.

A non-domestic EPC certificate looks very similar to the energy ratings you find on fridges or washing machines and have the same A-G energy rating. ‘A’ being very energy efficient and ‘G’ being very inefficient. Non-domestic EPC’s evaluate the performance of the building itself and its fixed services such as heating, cooling or ventilation equipment (not the contents such as computers or other such equipment).


Levels of Non-Domestic Energy Performance Certificates

There are 3 levels of EPC for non-domestic Energy Performance Certificates these being Level 3, level 4 and level 5. The levels represent different levels of complexity of the building and its fixed services, ranging from level 3 for simple buildings to level 5 for the most complex. In general:

Level 3 EPC = Small existing buildings with heating systems less than 100 KW and cooling systems less than 12 KW.

Level 4 EPC = Any newly built buildings and large existing buildings with heating systems greater than 100 KW and cooling systems greater than 12 KW. A level 4 is also required if any specialised fixed services such as VAV, fan coils or chilled ceilings are used.

Level 5 EPC = These are for the most complex buildings that could have features such as ventilation with enhanced thermal coupling to the structure, automatic blind and vent controls, and atria. Level 5 buildings must be assessed using an approved Dynamic Simulation Modelling (DSM) software.

How we can Help

At EEABS we are fully qualified Level 5 Energy Assessors registered with the Chartered Institute of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE). Being Level 5 Energy Assessor means that we are capable of also providing EPC’s for the less complex level 3 and level 4 buildings as well.

We use the approved Dynamic Simulation Modelling software EDSL TAS to produce an accurate 3D thermal model of your building, which then input all of the services into in order to generate your EPC rating and associated recommendation report.

If you require an EPC for any building, ranging from the simple to the complex, please get in touch with us today. If you are still unsure as to whether or not you require an EPC just let us know any questions you may have and we will be more than happy to help you out.

Some exemptions as to when an EPC is required do apply. For example any buildings that do not use energy to condition their indoor environment i.e. heating, cooling or ventilation do not require an EPC. Also some buildings such as those used for religious activities, temporary buildings or stand-alone building with an area of less than 50m2 are also exempt.

Contact Us Today

Call Us

01206 489019

Message Us

Using the Contact Form

Start typing and press Enter to search